Columns Everywhere

In my design fundamentals class, we are learning all about residential construction: the different methods, processes, tools, and people that all come together to create a single house. I had no idea how much work and effort goes into building. The professor had a few slides about columns, which was also a topic in last semester’s Art Appreciation. With my full dosage of column information lately, I now know, and appreciate, how far columns have come throughout the history of construction. I personally love columns, while others are very anti-columns. Maybe it’s because I grew up in the South and was raised in a house with large white columns, but I think they add so much personality to a building.

There are so many aspects of design that people do not realize that have built and changed our society. The column is definitely included in this and I will tell you why.

It all started with the Parthenon in Athens, Greece. Even though this amazing structure was constructed in 447 BC, it is still one of the world’s best models of construction and stability. Ancient Greeks developed the Doric Order, which was the special column that surrounds the exterior of the Parthenon. Okay, so that’s all I’m going to say about this because I know this is probably boring.

Anyways, here is the Parthenon!

It is amazing how anyone could construct such a balanced and sturdy structure without any modern tools.

These are other types of columns that are still commonly used today in both residential and commercial construction. The top of the column, called the capitol, can be either very detailed or plain.

Here is how columns are being used today. They are more common than you think:

Good old southern porch.

I forget what this House is called, but aren’t the columns precious?

Hey it’s Athens! The Athens in Georgia by the way…

Columns are even popping up inside the house! I love this look. It separates the space, while keeping it open.

I hope I’ve opened your eyes to the wonderful world of Columns! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

