Heart of a Home

I like to think of a Kitchen as the soul of a home. It’s where people come together to  bake, keep tradition, share stories, and create memories. Some of my personal favorite memories are of holidays where my family and I were crowded around the kitchen, cooking Nana Shirley’s old recipes. After we renovated our house a few years ago, the kitchen was expanded, widened, and refinished and looks so much better! I miss my kitchen at home and how homey it is. And dang, those home cooked meals.

Kitchens can be designed in countless different ways depending on the home owner’s personal taste and what they are looking for in a kitchen. They can be modern, English, shabby chic, French, contemporary, eclectic, anything really. However, the underlying point is to make food. So any way a kitchen is decorated, functionality is always the most essential factor. There are several building codes and measurement rules on how and where to position appliances, that a designer must think critically about placement and style of every little detail in a kitchen.

Next fall, I am taking a Kitchen and Bath NKBA class, and I am SO EXCITED! I cannot wait to start creating my own kitchen designs and I will be sure to share them with you!

Here are some kitchens that inspire me:

Love the clean, fresh atmosphere

I have an obsession with tile back-splashes

Nice contrast with the white painted island and dark granite counter and chairs

Not sure what caught my eye first, the exposed beam wall or vintage fire place.       I’m in love.

The stripped rug really pops

Island on wheels!

PANTONE has had a big impact with their color of the year: Tangerine.                       And I approve.

 Great arched windows

Dark walls and cabinets are coming back after light kitchens have ruled for the past few years

See what I mean?

Notice the exposed air ducts

Love the mix of styles

Amazing natural light

And here as well

Wire-back chairs rock

The dark wood ceiling is a nice touch to offset the brightness of the room

Yes Please

EnJoY

Leave a Reply

