Happy Merry Christmakwanzakah

HaPpY HoLiDaYs y’all!!! I cannot believe another semester has gone by and that I only have another year and a half before it’s all over. Athens is so beautiful during Christmas time and at night downtown is just precious with all the trees lit up.  I’m now back in Austin after a hard week of finals, papers, and presentations, and I have to say it’s good to be home.

I will soon be rewarded with gifts, which is obviously one of the best parts about the holidays, and my list keeps growing and growing. It is more like a “maybe someday list” than a “I will actually receive” list, but hey, a girl can dream.

Here are my top 10 gifts for 2012:

Number 10 – The Little Dictionary of Fashion

2723-11

 This book covers all the basics of fashion, written by one of the most fashionable people, Christian Dior. I love love love books! They are a great finishing touch to any space and truly make a home “homey.”

You can find it here, at ShopBop!

 

 

Number  9 – Abate Slatted Mirror

Anthro Abate Slatted Mirror

This decorative piece would look amazing in a hallway, living area, or bedroom. Mirrors add interest and character to an otherwise plain wall, and the gold iron gives it a special touch.

Buy it here, at Anthropologie!

 

 

Number 8 – Medard de Noblat

MedardDeNoblat_large_FEATURED_DESIGNER_TABLEWARE_20232

Everyone needs a tea set, no matter what age! This Limoges porcelain is a modern take on classic dish ware. Again, the gold accents make the pieces unique.

Convinced? Shop here!

 

 

Number 7 – Ivory Moroccan Table

Ivory "Moroccan" Table

Moroccan influenced pieces are popping up everywhere, and I approve. This ornate side table is balanced by the light colors that make up the design.

Totally in love? Get it here, at Horchow!

 

 

Number 6 – Diana Dhurrie, Black/Ivory Rug

Product_SVF21671_Image_1

I first noticed dark, glamorous rugs while stalking Kelly Wearster’s portfolio online. The vivid pattern definitely makes a statement and I personally think this would work great in a home office.

Feeling bold? Click here, at One Kings Lane!

 

 

Number 5 – John Richard Contemporary Horn Lamp

John-richard Collection Contemporary Horn Lamp

This table lamp reminds me of the luminaire that one of my classmates made for our Lighting Fundamentals project. I am drawn to items that take simple things from nature and manipulate or use them in new ways.

You like? Go here.

 

 

Number 4 – Trapp Candle, Water

water

If you’re a candle lover like I am, this is a must have. Whenever I am studying or lounging in my room, I light this candle and it immediately gives off the most amazing scent. I realized that one reason I love this candle so much is because it reminds me of my mom.

Buy it here!

 

 

Number 3 – Tall Butler Tray Stand

img5b

Tray and table in one? Count me in. This works perfect for either a mini bar or a simple side table.

Ch-ch-check it out here, at West Elm!

 

 

Number 2 – Almoco Flatware

PD_16945_MAIN

Goldware! Say what? From my past posts, you can tell I am obsessed with anything gold. It vamps up the glamour of any piece to a whole new level.

Need it now? Go here at Design Within Reach!

 

Drum roll please…

 

Number 1 – Hermes Avalon Blanket

hermes blanket

Obviously, what else would come in first place? I cannot count the number of times I have seen this blanket draped over a couch or bed in a spread of some elegant home featured in a prestigious magazine. People buy this blanket for what Hermes represents: class, style and sophistication.

Yes, please and thank you. Shop here!

 

 

I hope you found some special pieces to buy for that special someone! Or to indulge for yourself…

xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

